clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeff Bagwell elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame

Former Astros first baseman Jeff Bagwell will be part of the 2017 Hall of Fame Class with Tim Raines.

St. Louis Cardinals v Houston Astros Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images

Former Houston Astros first baseman Jeff Bagwell was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame by the Baseball Writers' Association of America on Wednesday.

Bagwell received 86.2 percent of the vote in his seventh year on the BBWAA’s ballot. He received 71.6 percent of the vote on the 2016 ballot, falling just 12 votes short of election last season.

Montreal Expo great Tim Raines and Texas Ranger great Ivan Rodriguez were also elected to the 2017 class. Raines received an 86.0 percent of the vote on his 10th and final year on the ballot. Former Astro Ivan Rodriguez (93 games in 2009) finished with 76.0 of the vote in his first year.

Bagwell played 15 major league seasons all with the Houston Astros. He was a face of the franchise with fellow Hall of Famer Craig Biggio. He was the 1994 NL MVP, the 1991 NL Rookie of the Year, and a four-time all-star.

Bagwell batted .297 with 449 home runs and 1,529 RBI while posting a .408 on-base percentage and a .540 slugging percentage. He is the Houston franchise leader in career home runs, RBIs, batting average. and walks. He ranks second in club history in games, runs, hits, doubles, total bases, on-base percentage, and slugging percentage.

The Astros all-time great joins Craig Biggio in the Hall of Fame, who was elected in 2015 with 82.7 percent of the vote. Bagwell will be the second player to don an Astros cap in the Hall of Fame. He and Biggio should be joining Nolan Ryan as Astros in the Hall, but Ryan inexplicably has a Rangers logo on his plaque.