clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Astros announce Spring Training non-roster invites

Jon Singleton headlines a group of 18 players joining Houston in West Palm Beach.

MLB: Spring Training-Detroit Tigers at Houston Astros Reinhold Matay-USA TODAY Sports

The Houston Astros and general manager Jeff Luhnow announced 18 non-roster players have been invited to Major League Spring Training, including eight pitchers, three catchers, three infielders and four outfielders.

The 18 invitees include three minor leauge free agents: IF Reid Brignac, C Juan Centeno, and LHP C.J. Riefenhauser.

The other 15 return from the Astros farm system: IF J.D. Davis, OF Derek Fisher, RHP Edison Frias, OF Alejandro Garcia, C Tyler Heineman, LHP Brian Holmes, RHP Jordan Jankowski, OF Jon Kemmer, OF Ramon Laureano, RHP Francis Martes, RHP Tyson Perez, IF Jon Singleton, RHP Cy Sneed, C Garrett Stubbs and RHP Aaron West.

Davis, Fisher, Heineman, Jankowski, and Kemmer return from 2016 group of invitees and Singleton was dropped from the 40-man roster the offseason.

Non-roster players invitees made a major impact on the field for the Astros in 2016. In total nine players saw action with the team: IF Alex Bregman, RHP Jake Buchanan, RHP Chris Devenski, RHP James Hoyt, IF Tony Kemp, IF Colin Moran, IF A.J. Reed, RHP Brady Rodgers, and IF Tyler White.