clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeff Bagwell highlights 2017 Hall of Fame ballot

Bagwell returns to the Hall of Fame ballot for the seven time.

St. Louis Cardinals v Houston Astros Photo by Bob Levey/Getty Images

Astros first baseman Jeff Bagwell needed just 15 more votes to join the 2016 Hall of Fame class with Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Pizza. Now Bagwell returns to the 2017 ballot as the top returning vote-getter with 71.6 percent.

The 2017 Baseball Writers' Association of America Hall of Fame ballot earlier this week. Among the biggest among the 19 newcomers on the 2017 ballot are Vladimir Guerrero, Mann Ramirez, and former Astro Ivan Rodriguez — Rodriguez played 93 games for the Astros in 2009.

Among the returning Astros vote-getter returning include Curt Schilling (52.3 percent in 2016), Roger Clemens (45.2), Jeff Kent (14.0) and Billy Wagner (10.5).

The Hall of Fame voting will be announced on Jan. 18 and induction scheduled for July 30 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

The 34 players on the ballot include:

Jeff Bagwell

Casey Blake

Barry Bonds

Pat Burrell

Orlando Cabrera

Mike Cameron

Roger Clemens

J.D. Drew

Vladimir Guerrero

Carlos Guillen

Trevor Hoffman

Jeff Kent

Derrek Lee

Edgar Martinez

Fred McGriff

Melvin Mora

Mike Mussina

Magglio Ordonez

Jorge Posada

Tim Raines

Manny Ramirez

Edgar Renteria

Ivan Rodriguez

Freddy Sanchez

Curt Schilling

Gary Sheffield

Lee Smith

Sammy Sosa

Matt Stairs

Jason Varitek

Billy Wagner

Tim Wakefield

Larry Walker