clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MLB Draft 2015: Astros 2015 draft pick results tracker and social media guide

New, 26 comments

Keeping track of all the newest Astros from the 2015 draft class.

Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports

Another year, another draft in the books for the Astros. Hopefully this year will come with less drama. Houston took home 42 players overall in forty rounds. The Astros selected 31 players out of college, three junior college players, and eight high schoolers - 16 college juniors, 11 college seniors, three fifth-year college seniors, three college sophomores, and one redshirt college junior.

21 position players and 21 pitchers were selected by the Astros. 15 right-handed pitchers, 6 left-handed pitchers, 10 outfielders, four catchers, three shortstops, 2 second basemen, and one first baseman.

Now for the chart. TCB will update the signing as they are announced below. Follow the Astros draft picks in the College World Series - here.

Round Pick # Name Pos School B/T Ht DOB Twitter Handle Signed
1 2 Alex Bregman SS LSU (LA) R / R 5' 11" 3/30/1994 @abreg_1 Signed
1 5 Kyle Tucker OF H.B. Plant HS (FL) L / R 6' 4" 1/17/1997 @ktuck30 Signed
CBA 37 Daz Cameron OF Eagle's Landing Christian Academy (GA) R / R 6' 2" 1/15/1997 @daz_cameron16 Unsigned
2 46 Thomas Eshelman RHP Cal State - Fullerton (CA) R / R 6' 3" 6/20/1994 @thomaseshelman1 Unsigned
3 79 Riley Ferrell RHP TCU (TX) R / R 6' 2" 10/18/1993 @riley_ferrell12 Signed
4 109 Anthony Hermelyn C Oklahoma (OK) R / R 6' 1" 11/18/1993 @anthonyhermelyn Signed
5 139 Trent Thornton RHP North Carolina (NC) R / R 6' 0" 9/30/1993 @trent_thornton1 Signed
6 169 Nestor Muriel CF Carlos Beltran Baseball Academy (Puerto Rico) R / R 6' 2" 6/11/1998 @nestormuriel Signed
7 199 Michael Freeman LHP Oklahoma State (OK) R / L 6' 8" 10/7/1991 @mikethefreeman_ Signed
8 229 Garrett Stubbs C USC (CA) L / R 5' 10" 5/26/1993 @garrettstubbs Signed
9 259 Zac Person LHP LSU (LA) L / L 6' 1" 10/13/1992 @zac_person Signed
10 289 Scott Weathersby RHP Ole Miss (MS) R / R 6' 2" 12/23/1991 @s_weathersby40 Signed
11 319 Patrick Sandoval LHP Mission Viejo HS (CA) L / L 6' 3" 10/18/1996 @p_sandoval16 Signed
12 349 Myles Straw CF St. Johns River State College (FL) R / R 5' 10" 10/17/1994 @mylesstraw Signed
13 379 Kevin McCanna RHP Rice (TX) L / R 6' 1" 2/1/1994 @kmccanna23 Signed
14 409 Johnny Sewald CF Arizona State (AZ) L / R 6' 0" 11/11/1993 @johnnysewald Signed
15 439 Pat Porter RF Ohio State (OH) L / L 6' 0" 6/10/1993 @pat_porter3 Signed
16 469 Adam Whitt RHP Nevada (NV) R / R 6' 3" 3/22/1993 @abomb34 Signed
17 499 Justin Garcia LF Nova Southeastern University (FL) L / L 6' 2" 10/6/1993 @justingarcia106 Signed
18 529 Kevin Martir C Maryland (MD) R / R 5' 11" 2/11/1994 Signed
19 559 Drew Ferguson CF Belmont University (TN) R / R 5' 11" 8/3/1992 @_drewferguson Signed
20 589 Makay Nelson RHP College of Southern Idaho (ID) R / R 5' 11" 7/27/1994 @makaynelson26 Signed
21 619 Alex Winkelman LHP Southeast Missouri State (MO) L / L 6' 2" 2/8/1994 @winks_253 Signed
22 649 Cole Sands RHP North Florida Christian HS (FL) R / R 6' 2" 7/17/1997 @ColeSands Unsigned
23 679 Matt Bower LHP Washington State (WA) R / L 6' 5" 6/16/1994 @bower16 Unsigned
24 709 Chris Murphy RHP Millersville University (PA) R / R 6' 4" 9/28/1992 Signed
25 739 Jorge Martinez C Carlos Beltran Baseball Academy (Puerto Rico) R / R 5' 11" 12/19/1996 Signed
26 769 Ralph Garza RHP Oklahoma (OK) R / R 6' 2" 4/6/1994 @la_garza_32 Signed
27 799 James Carter RHP University of California - Santa Barbara (CA) R / R 6' 3" 3/10/1994 @jtc_23_ Unsigned
28 829 Zac Grotz RHP Embry-Riddle University (FL) R / R 6' 2" 2/17/1993 @zacgrotz Signed
29 859 Brooks Marlow 2B Texas (TX) L / R 5' 9" 6/24/1993 @bmarlow8 Signed
30 889 Bobby Wernes 3B Arkansas (AR) R / R 6' 3" 7/4/1994 @bobbywernes Unsigned
31 919 Keach Ballard SS Oklahoma Baptist University (OK) L / R 6' 0" 7/16/1992 @the_dkb2 Signed
32 949 Aaron Mizell OF Georgia Southern (GA) L / R 6' 0" 10/14/1993 @aaron_mizell Signed
33 979 Kolbey Carpenter 2B Oklahoma (OK) R / R 6' 0" 9/8/1993 @kolbeya Unsigned
34 1009 Conor Biggio OF Notre Dame (IN) L / R 5' 9" 1/7/1993 @getbiggio10 Unsigned
35 1039 Kody Clemens SS Memorial HS (TX) L / R 6' 1" 5/15/1996 @kclemens2203 Unsigned
36 1069 Ryan Deemes RHP Nicholls State (LA) R / R 6' 2" 6/11/1993 @ryan_deemes_6 Signed
37 1099 Luken Baker RHP Oak Ridge HS (TX) R / R 6' 4" 3/10/1997 @lukenb9 Unsigned
38 1129 Nick Rivera 1B Florida Gulf Coast University (FL) R / R 5' 11" 8/13/1993 @nickrivera35 Unsigned
39 1159 Alex Vargas RHP Monroe College (NY) R / R 5' 11" 1/25/1994 Unsigned
40 1189 Steve Naemark LHP Angelo State (TX) L / L 6' 3" 3/23/1990 Signed