clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2015 TCB Astros Fan Favorite March Madness Tournament Champion is Dallas Keuchel

The 2015 Astros Fan Favorite March Madness Tournament is in the books. The beard is king.

Your 2015 TCB Astros Fan Favorite March Madness Tournament Champion is Dallas Keuchel. This is Keuchel's first victory in the Fan Favorite tournament. Two-time champion Aaron West was defeated this tournament's runner-up Joe Sclafani. Keuchel defeated Sclafani, 2482 - 2219. There were close to five-times the number of votes compared to last year's finals vote.


[Download bracket]

Dallas Keuchel's path to the championship included victories over Ronald Torreyes, Josh Hader, Evan Gattis, Collin McHugh, Preston Tucker, and Joe Sclafani.

Joe Sclafani reached the finals with victories over Josh Fields, Jed Lowrie, Aaron West, George Springer, and Conrad Gregor.

Final Thoughts

  • There was 34540 votes in this years tournament.
  • Breaking down the average votes per matchup in each round: 315.8 in the round of 64, 369.6 in the round of 32, 812.9 in the round 16, 572.5 in the elite eight, and 2514.5 in the final four.
  • 7 major league players and 9 prospects made the sweet sixteen; 4 major leaguers and 4 prospects made the elite eight. Dallas Keuchel and 3 prospects made the final four.
  • The closest vote in the tournament was between Jon Singleton and Evan Gattis in the round of 32, 152-150.
Finally, all of the credit for this year's tournament goes to Brian Stevenson and Tim De Block. Brian organized our writers to do our snippets about the players and created every matchup post. That was 60-plus posts in total, a monumental task. Thank you again Brian. Tim did an excellent job with the bracket and the graphics this year.