clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Houston chapter of BBWAA name annual Astros awards

Awards continue to roll in for the Astros, this time from the local media.

Gregory J. Fisher-USA TODAY Sports

Per Astros press release:

The Houston Chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America has announced their annual awards for the 2015 season. These awards recognize the top Astros performers as well as a Major League player that is a native of the Houston area:

Astros MVP: LHP Dallas Keuchel
Astros Pitcher of the Year: LHP Dallas Keuchel
Astros Rookie of the Year: SS Carlos Correa
Darryl Kile Good Guy Award: C Hank Conger
Houston Area (non Astro) Player of the Year: 1B Paul Goldschmidt
Fred Hartman Long and Meritorious Service Award: Nolan Ryan, Astros Executive Advisor, HOF pitcher

Additionally, the chapter also announced that Kristie Rieken of the Associated Press will return as their Chairperson for 2016.

LHP Dallas Keuchel is the first Astros pitcher to win the team MVP award since RHP Doug Jones (1992), and the first to win the team Pitcher of the Year Award in back-to-back seasons since RHP Roy Oswalt (2006-07).

Legendary Hall of Famer Nolan Ryan, this year’s winner of the Fred Hartman Long and Meritorious Service to Baseball Award, has been in the game as both a player and executive since 1965.