clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hall of Fame 2015: TV scheudle, announcement time, rules for election and voter requirements

What do you need to know before Tuesday's Hall of Fame announcement?

Rick Scuteri-USA TODAY Sports

On Tuesday, the baseball world will get a few more Hall of Famers (probably), as the baseball museum in Cooperstown, New York is set to announce its 2015 class.

Jeff Bagwell and Craig Biggio may hear their names called, along with near-locks Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez and John Smoltz. Here's what you need to know about Tuesday's announcement.

When is it?

The Hall of Fame announcement will be made by Hall president Jeff Idelson will announce the results from this year's vote at 1 p.m. CST on Tuesday.

Where will it air?

The announcement will be live on MLB Network, presumably with analysis and interviews with the newly-elected Hall of Famers following the announcement.

A press conference will be held with the electees on Wednesday at 10 a.m. CST in New York.

Who can vote?

Members of the Baseball Writers Association of America who have held a membership for 10 consecutive years are eligible to cast a ballot. New this year is a requirement that these members register and then sign a code of conduct.

This is in response to Miami columnist Dan Le Batard "selling" his Hall of Fame vote to Deadspin last year. Le Batard took the money and donated it to charity, but was suspended by the BBWAA after he went public with his sold ballot.

Who is eligible?

Any player with 10 years of MLB service is eligible to be elected after they have been retired for five years. If a player fails to receive 5 percent of the vote, he falls off the ballot. If he receives 75 percent or more, he is elected into the Hall of Fame.

This year, the following players are eligible for the first time in 2015: Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez, John Smoltz, Carlos Delgado, Gary Sheffield, Nomar Garciaparra, Troy Percival, Rich Aurilia, Aaron Boone, Tony Clark, Jermaine Dye, Darin Erstad, Cliff Floyd, Brian Giles, Tom Gordon, Eddie Guardado and Jason Schmidt.

Returning players to the ballot include Craig Biggio, Mike Piazza, Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Lee Smith, Curt Schilling, Edgar Martinez, Alan Trammell, Mike Mussina, Jeff Kent, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Larry Walker, Don Mattingly and Sammy Sosa.