clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN Awards: NL Manager of the Year

Stros Bros had included a link to this a while back, but we've been ok'ed to release the ballots for the voting on a day by day basis and I missed the deadline in the handing over of the reigns.


National League 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Lou Piniella 9 4 2 59
Charlie Manuel 2 6 5 33
Fredi Gonzalez 3 2 3 24
Joe Torre 2 2 3 19
Tony LaRussa 2 - - 10
Ned Yost - 3 1 10
Cecil Cooper - 1 2 5
Manny Acta 1 - - 5
Dale Sveum - 1 1 4
Jerry Manuel - - 1 1

Cecil got some love.  I have to say I think it's a little lame that Piniella gets the nod on the sole basis of his team having the best record.  With their spending and trading in the last two years, they should have a great team.  I'll reveal my vote: I voted for TLR because that man did more with less than anyone.  I believe I had Manuel second (TLR and Manuel could be flipped, it has been a month since I cast my ballot) and  and Cooper third because we did out perform our Pythag records by so much.